Change Your Choices

Change Your Life…Tips for a healthier you

I Feel like Laura Ingalls

on July 26, 2012

My Pinterest addiction is in high gear and I am finding all sorts of recipes, workouts, and cleaning tips.  I’m so busy pinning that I really don’t have time to cook, exercise, and clean!

Seriously, I have found lots of good stuff on Pinterest and decided to try making homemade laundry soap.  In the words of my daughter, “Now why the hell make your own detergent when you can just pour it out of a bottle?”  Good question.  I’m not really sure why.  Perhaps because I am tired of buying soap and tossing the plastic containers.  I already add Borax to the stinky loads so why not just use it as part of the soap?  It also makes me feel very Laura Ingalls.

And–it costs about 6 cents per load, the usage is 1 tablespoon per load so this will last me for YEARS!!  I have a top loader, if you have a front loader and use HE soap, this will save you even more as HE detergent is more expensive.

The original post explains it perfectly so go here: http://www.diynatural.com/homemade-laundry-detergent-soap/ to check it out.

Here are my notes after making it.

-I was able to find all 3 ingredients at Festival Foods but I would guess these are available at pretty much any store that has cleaning supplies.

-I used Ivory soap because I wash a lot of athletic wear and I read the Fels Naptha is rough on polyesters. A Fels Naptha mix would be a few pennies less and probably better if  you have really dirty laundry.  Mine is mostly just sweaty laundry, not many stains or dirt.

-Instead of grating the Ivory soap, I used the microwave suggestion and it is SO cool!  Unwrap the bar, put it on a plate in the microwave, I hit 2 minutes but it didn’t take long at all before it turned into a “cloud.” I pulled it out when it was huge, let it cool a bit and it just flaked in my hands.  I kept putting the non-cloud portion back in the microwave until it was all flaked.  This is almost too much fun!

Ivory Soap after a minute in the microwave!

This batch was made  with 1 bar of soap and 1 cup each of the other ingredients.  It filled a 1 lb. deli tub with a little left over.  If I only use 1 tablespoon per wash load this is going to last forever.  From start to finish this took 10 minutes to make and there is absolutely no mess.  And…my hands are super clean from flaking that bar of soap.

I haven’t had a chance to use it but I am also going to add vinegar to the softener dispenser instead of liquid softener and see what happens.  Another suggestion is to throw some balled up tinfoil in the dryer to eliminate static.  I’ll report back after trying this.  If it works I will be very happy to eliminate lots of chemicals from the detergent and softener.  (and save money, too!) More info on that: http://www.ehow.com/how_12167905_natural-ways-eliminate-static-build-up-dryer.html

 

I’m not quite this much of a pioneer woman. yet…

I will not be churning my own butter any time soon, mostly because I don’t eat butter, but I might try making my own toothpaste!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

