Change Your Choices

Change Your Life…Tips for a healthier you

This Chicken Burger Gets a WOW+

on July 6, 2012

I bought a big package of ground chicken and drew a blank on what to make with it. Randy is not a huge fan of ground chicken or turkey, he doesn’t complain, he just doesn’t get very excited about it.  I knew I had to make something that would have the WOW factor and I found it on Pinterest.  How much do I love Pinterest?  It is my new favorite source of information and a really awesome way to waste time.  I found this one by searching ground chicken which directed me to The Cookbook Junkie.  She borrowed this recipe from Rachael Ray.  See http://cookbookjunkie.blogspot.com/2009/08/does-she-have-fan-club.html for the original post and a printable version.

I had most of the ingredients on hand and Randy likes burgers so I decided to give it a shot.  I did make some changes to the original and there are a few notes below.

Cacciatore Burgers Rachel Ray 365: No Repeats Copyright 2005


Extra-virgin olive oil

1- 1/3 lbs ground chicken or ground turkey breast (I used 1 pound of ground chicken breast)

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

2 garlic cloves, minced. (I used roughly a tablespoon of the pre-cut kind)

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1 medium yellow onion (1/4 finely chopped, 3/4 thinly sliced) I used red onion as that’s what I had

2-3 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

10 fresh basil leaves, shredded (don’t skip this)

Parmigiano-reggiano cheese (I used a shredded 6 cheese Italian blend)

2  sliced Portobello mushroom caps, I used 6 sliced baby bellas

2 cubanelle peppers, seeded and sliced. I bought Anaheim peppers.  MUCH hotter than I expected, I only used a small bit

2 hot cherry peppers, chopped (I omitted this)

4 slices provolone cheese, deli sliced

4 crusty rolls

Optional: Dickinson’s Sweet and Hot Pepper and Onion Relish

To Make:

Drizzle some olive oil in a bowl; add to it the chicken, Worcestershire sauce, chopped garlic, red pepper flakes, chopped onions, parsley, basil, Parmigiano (a generous palmful), salt, and pepper to taste. Combine mixture.

Preheat skillet, add drizzle of olive oil
Form  into 4 large patties; place patties on hot skillet; cook 6 minutes, then flip burgers and cook 5 minutes on the other side. (they were perfectly done following this exactly wth a nice brown sear on the outside)
Heat a second skillet over med-high heat; add 1 tablespoon olive oil; add in the mushroom caps, sliced onions and cubanelle peppers (if  used)
Season with salt and pepper; cook 5 minutes, stirring often.
Turn the heat off; add in the hot cherry peppers and a splash of their juice.( I omitted)  Place the provolone over the burgers and turn off the heat in the pan; tent the pan with foil to melt the cheese and carry-over heat. (or just use the lid!)
The original recipe called for toasting the rolls with garlic butter, I brushed them with the Hot and Sweet Relish and put them under the broiler.
Toast the crusty rolls until golden. Watch it, they will burn quickly! The relish added a slightly sweet element that was really good.
Place the cheese-covered patties on the bottoms of the buns; top with the peppers and onions; replace the top halves of the buns.

The presentation on this burger was amazing, it looks like a lot of work but by prepping everything ahead of time I was able to throw it together pretty quickly.

A few thoughts:

We like spicy food and peppers, usually the hotter the better for Randy.  However, he took a big bite of the Anaheim pepper as I was slicing it and his mouth was on fire.  I decided to add just a tiny bit of finely chopped pepper.  Combined with the red pepper flakes and the relish on the bun made this hot but not too hot.  I’m glad I eliminated the hot cherry peppers, use your discretion for your taste.

Ground chicken breast is a great low-fat lean protein, typically better than ground turkey (unless you buy turkey breast).  It is always on sale, I was excited to see that the Cookbook Junkie has loads of recipes for it.  The rest of the ingredients are all low-calorie and full of nutrients with the exception of the bun and the relish.  These burgers just scream out for a big ol’bun, I did use whole grain but it was still a big bun.

I made a lettuce salad as a side dish but the burger alone would have been plenty.  I ate one and was full. Randy loved it so much he had to eat a second one right away.  We will fight over the last one for lunch tomorrow!

This is not my picture but mine was very similar without the peppers.

You won’t need the fries, this is a filling burger!

2 responses to “This Chicken Burger Gets a WOW+

  1. Roz says:

    Karen – sounds delish! Is the ground chicken breast from the meat dept or a pre-packaged brand?

  2. Karen says:

    It is fresh ground from the meat department. I buy it in the 3 lb or so package in the big pack area but there are usually 1 pound packages as well.

Leave a Reply

