Change Your Choices

Change Your Life…Tips for a healthier you

Is “Text Neck” Real? Yes. So is Computer Neck, Couch Neck, and Reading Neck!

on October 15, 2011

 

Do you catch yourself in this position?

“Text Neck” has been in the news this week because a chiropractor has copyrighted the term and has come up with a treatment plan for those suffering from head, neck, and shoulder pain.  What sort of position is your head in for most of the day?  For me, I’m at my desk working on the computer for 8+ hours.  If I’m not on my computer, I am looking at my phone (texting) or making a call with the phone cradled between my head and shoulder.  In the evening I spend a few more hours laying on the couch with my laptop either surfing the web or writing blogs.  As I write, my neck is killing me and I know this posture is terrible but sitting up just seems like too much work!

There are many articles about setting up your work station correctly but the topic today is how to relieve a sore neck and shoulders through a series of exercises. 

Time for a Posture Check!

Why should we care about neck and head position?

Poor neck posture leads to a Forward Head Position which is one of the most common causes of neck, head and shoulder pain. This can be a result of injuries like sprains and strains of the neck leading to weak neck muscles, poor sleeping positions and the illustrated examples of driving stress computer neck, couch neck and readers neck along with improper breathing habits. Up to two-thirds of computer users complain of neck and shoulder pain by midday.  Left unchecked,  this can cause muscle spasms, compression of nerves or a degeneration of the spinal column. Chronic cases bring a litany of problems: stiffness, headaches, work absenteeism, emotional stress and missed workouts.

Even if you are in good shape and exercise daily, you still need to pay attention to your neck during the day and take frequent stretch breaks.  A friend from the Y suggested trying some desk yoga with Rodney Yee.  Wow!  He has several short videos on You Tube that I will feature in upcoming posts but today let’s release some neck tension with a 4 minute relaxation break.  You should do this at least twice a day. 

 Ahhhhh…..doesn’t that feel great?  Take a few minutes several times a day to take care of yourself.  Your body will thank you!

Leave a Reply

