Change Your Choices

Change Your Life…Tips for a healthier you

Carrot Cake

on October 8, 2011

 

I love Natalie Dee cartoons and this one is so true!  Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Icing is my very favorite cake but it is one of those things that is deceptively bad for you and oh so good to eat!   I limit it to a small piece on very rare occasions. 

Nutritional Info 1 slice  (1/10 of an 8″ round,  That’s a very tiny piece- who cuts a round cake into 10 slices?)

Calories- 326

Fat-17 grams (3 grams saturated)

Sugar- 31 g ( about 8 teaspoons!)

I tried to find a recipe for a healthier carrot cake  but the reduction in calories, fat, and sugar is so minimal that they didn’t seem worth trying.  I guess I will stick with the “only in moderation” mantra when it comes to this treat.  If anyone has a madeover recipe for carrot cake- pass it along!

One response to “Carrot Cake

  1. Very true…. but I can still cling to that belief. I adore carrot cake.

Leave a Reply

