Change Your Choices

Change Your Life…Tips for a healthier you

Taste Test- Subway Oven Crisp Chicken Sub

on September 27, 2011

My sandwich looked nothing like this one!

This sounded like the perfect sandwich.  I love fried chicken but it is fairly unhealthy.  I love Subway because most of their options are quite healthy so this had to be a win-win.  I ordered the footlong for $6 rather than the 6″ for $4 knowing I would save half for lunch tomorrow.  This sandwich is advertised as “deep flavor without the deep fryer” so it had to be good!

The first thing I noticed is that this sandwich takes awhile to make.  She (her name was Karen) has to take the “chicken” and put it in the toaster oven. (Side note-“chicken” is in quotes because this thing they call chicken looked nothing like any part of a bird.  I suspect it is parts that have been pressed together, bleached, and formed.) Anyway, while this heated, Karen had to slice the bread and toast it in another oven.  Once the chicken was “crispy” it was put on the toasted bread.  I added lettuce, onions, cucumbers,  black olives, and a bit of sweet onion dressing.  This was quite an ordeal for Karen but she finally finished this masterpiece.  I also ordered the new yogurt parfait, more on that later.

I expected this hot and crispy sandwich to be  spicy like KFC, but I would say it was more like a white sponge on bread. I tried to pick out some chicken to see if it had any taste but it was stuck to the bun.  it also doesn’t reach to the end of the bun so the first and last bite are just bread with no sponge.  Honestly, I have never been so disappointed with a Subway sandwich.  There was no crispy, no crunch (except for my toppings), and no flavor.  The only saving grace was the sweet onion dressing but to add insult to injury, I dribbled it down my shirt! 

Well, it failed the taste test but at least it was healthy.  Or so I thought.   I really need to learn to figure the nutritionals BEFORE ordering. 

Calories: 420, 6.7 grams of fat, 30 mg cholesterol, and 930 mg of SODIUM.  Ouch. They must bread that thing with salt and it still has no flavor.  More  insult to injury! 

So, what’s the verdict?  If you want to eat a salty white sponge on bread, try this sandwich.  If you want flavor, freshness, and nutrition- check out some of the other menu options. 

My parfait looked nothing like this, either.

I usually get a macadamia nut cookie as a reward for eating a healthy sandwich but Subway has been pushing the yogurt parfait so I tried that as well.  It was better than the sandwich and healthier than the cookie but still somewhat disappointing.  I could tell it wasn’t made fresh that day (as advertised) because the fruit juice was really broken down into the yogurt.  The blueberry skin was also chewy which is an off-putting texture to me. 

Calories: 160, 2 grams of fat (1 saturated), 80 mg of sodium, and 24 g of sugar (6 teaspoons).  Better than a cookie, but the Mc Donald’s parfait is slightly better on nutrition and way better on taste.  Even better?  Making your own- I’ll post a recipe tomorrow. 

Overall, a disappointing trip to Subway.  I’m going back to my old standby turkey sub next time.   The yogurt might get another shot- unless those macadamia nut cookies throw themselves in my bag!

Leave a Reply

